Oberon Celebrates Shakespeare

Oberon Celebrates Shakespeare
Release Date: 25 November 2016
Order your copy

Released by Cavi-Music (Harmonia Mundi)

The Oberon Trio’s name is a reference to Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, in which Oberon, the king of the fairies, leads and oversees the realm of magic, fantasy and playful delight. The members of the Oberon Trio have come together to explore the magical world of play and fantasy that lies at the heart of music-making. With a sense of fresh curiosity and discovery, they convey to their audiences the message that music is something perpetually vibrant, personal and alive.

Their latest disc brings together Mendelssohn’s Klaviertrio Nr. 2, Beethoven’s Klaviertrio Nr. 5 and an arrangement of Mendelssohn’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream by Hosseini. Also featured on the disc, Charlotte Bray’s ‘That Crazed Smile’, a new work commissioned by the trio in 2014.